The Committee of the Oxford Centre for Byzantine Research is made up of ex-officio appointments and representatives of the faculties of History, Classics, Medieval & Modern Languages and Oriental Studies.

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation Director of the OCBR is Professor Peter Frankopan

The Committee of OCBR meets several times this year, and at least once each term. Its finances are administered by the History Faculty.


The following serve on the Committee of the OCBR for 2023-24:

Professor Dame Averil Cameron, Professor of Byzantine History (Keble)
Profesor Philip Booth, AG Leventis Associate Professor in Eastern Christianity (Trinity)
Professor Jás Elsner, Professor of Late Antique Art (Corpus Christi)

Professor Peter Frankopan (Director), Professor of Global History, Senior Research Fellow (Worcester)
Professor Ine Jacobs, Associate Professor in Byzantine Archaeology & Material Culture (Univ)

Professor Marc Lauxtermann, Bywater and Sotheby Professor of Byzantine & Modern Greek Language & Literature (Exeter)

Professor Llewelyn Morgan, University Lecturer in Classical Languages and Literature (Brasenose)

Professor David Taylor, Associate Professor of Aramaic & Syrian (Wolfson)

Dr Ida Toth, Lecturer in Byzantine Epigraphy (Wolfson)

Professor Bryan Ward-Perkins, Director OCLA, Professor of Late Antique History (Trinity)



Professor Peter Frankopan

Professor Peter Frankopan

Stavros Niarchos Foundation Director of the OCBR